Romney, admitted newcomer to conservatism, announces in new ad: I am more Republican than you are, and I am more honest than you are; I am more conservative than you are

“Kudos to Romney for taking on the GOP’s image problems head on. I think an electorate that is tired of finger-pointing, excuses, and evading responsibility will appreciate a candidate who says, ‘our side screwed up,'” swoons shameless Romney sycophant Jim Geraghty in a Campaign Spot post titled “I’m a fan of Romney’s new message, ‘change begins with us.'” Geraghty includes the script:

GOVERNOR MITT ROMNEY: “If we’re going to change Washington, Republicans have to put our own house in order.

“We can’t be like Democrats – a party of big spending.

“We can’t pretend our borders are secure from illegal immigration.

“We can’t have ethical standards that are a punch line for Jay Leno.

“When Republicans act like Democrats, America loses.

“It’s time for Republicans to start acting like Republicans.

“It’s time for a change and change begins with us.

“I’m Mitt Romney and I approve this message … more

Matt C., in a race42008.com post titled New Romney Ad: “Change Begins With Us,” opines with no trace of irony: This ad is music to my ears – finally, somebody saying exactly what I’m feeling.

eye of eyeon08.com, however, has a different take:

Of course, this is the same guy who said:

My R doesn’t so much stand for Republican as Reform

Jonathan Martin asked recently why people dislike Romney so much. For me it is not so much that he is dishonest, venal, and hypocritical. I am a political professional. I deal with politicians all the time, and I am used to that. But he is so brazen. I am pretty cynical, but he is too much even for me.

After all, this is the guy who has flip-flopped on abortion, gay-rights, taxes, guns, embryonic stem-cell research, Ronald Reagan, the Contract with America, his draft-dodging, education, immigration, and campaign finance-reform. And now he is lecturing people on being Republican enough? … more

We concur with eye. As for Willard Milton—“it’s OK to change your mind“—Romney’s call for change, we would ask that it begin with the Romneys! See:

yours &c.
dr. g.d.