Huckabee: I’d also be crying [if I were Romney], if I’d spent all that money—Romney’s fantastically low ROI for his every campaign dollar a source of laughter and derision

“WASHINGTON – Republican presidential hopeful Mike Huckabee is on the rise as his campaign gains momentum, drawing stronger response not only from voters but also a fellow contender,” writes the estimable and precise Michelle Vu of the Christian Post in a story titled Huckabee Rise Triggers Strong Response

This past week the ordained Southern Baptist preacher bumped former Massachusetts governor Mitt Romney from his first-tier position and caused the best financed Republican contender to take a personal shot at the not-so-well financed Huckabee.

Romney took a swipe at Huckabee Friday in an Iowa Public Television interview that the former Arkansas governor had supported “special tuition breaks to the children of illegal immigrants,” according to TIME.com’s political blog Swampland.

It was the first time that the GOP frontrunner in Iowa had ever directed an attack solely at Huckabee.

“I must be doing well,” Huckabee said Saturday morning in response when he was informed of Romney’s comment …

Translation:

I’m hot cause I’m fly
You ain’t cause you’re not
This is why
This is why
This is why I’m hot
This is why I’m hot (with apologies to MIMS)

“I guess I’d be coming after me too,” Huckabee said. “I’d also be crying, if I’d spent all that money”

… “His successes have been all the more remarkable for having been accomplished on a shoestring budget, suggesting that genuine voter affection, as opposed to advertising dollars, is driving the Huckabee surge,” noted Karen Tumulty, TIME magazine’s national political correspondent on Saturday.

Although Huckabee had lost to Romney in the Values Voters straw poll by a narrow margin of 30 votes – receiving altogether 1,565 votes (online and onsite) compared to his rival’s 1,595 votes – the former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee had received 51.26 percent of the onsite votes compared to onsite runner-up Romney’s 10.40 percent … etc., etc.

The emphases are ours, all ours.

Credit: From their own mouths

yours &c.
dr. g.d.

  1. Great post, and thanks for the credit (I posted the From Their Own Mouths post you credited).




Leave a Reply

